Along With The Gods: The Two Worlds

(신과함께 – 죄와 벌)

2018 (12th) Asian Film Awards- Best Action Film, Best Production Design, Best Visual Effects




Since its theatrical release in December 20, Along with the Gods: The Two Worldshas surpassed 14 million admissions to become a massive hit in the Korean box office. Korean heavyweights Ha Jung-woo (Assassination), Cha Tae-hyun (My Sassy Girl) and Lee Jung-jae (The Thieves) lead a starry cast in writer-director Kim Yong-hwa’s special effects driven blockbuster.

According to the laws of Afterlife, all deceased must go through 7 trials over 49 days divided into 7 sin categories: betrayal, violence, filial piety, murder, indolence, deceit, and injustice. Once the deceased clears all 7 trials, he can be reincarnated and start a new life.

Having died unexpectedly at a scene of fire while trying to save a little girl, firefighter Ja-hong(Cha Tae-Hyun)is taken to the purgatory by 3 Afterlife guardians – Gang-lim(Ha Jung-woo), Hewonmak (Ju Ji-hoon) and Deok-choon(Kim Hyang-gi). As the first paragon in 19 years, he must go through 7 trials over 49 days in order to be reincarnated. The 3 guardians were promised of reincarnation as well by King Yeomra(Lee Jung-jae), who rules the Afterlife, if they successfully defend 49 souls and do their best defend Ja-hong’s innocence in trials as their 48th client.

His journey progresses without a hitch, until his brother Su-hong, who died begrudgingly, has turned into a Vengeful Spirit and begins attacking the Afterlife, thereby interrupting Ja-hong’s trial. Through the course of this battle, hidden facts surrounding Su-hong’s death are uncovered and proof of Ja-hong’s innocence is now uncertain. Risking their own fate in the Afterlife, the 3 guardians fight to reincarnate both brothers.





Ha Jung-woo, Cha Tae-hyun, Ju Ji-hoon, Kim Hyang-gi

Director: Kim Yong-hwa
Duration (min) : 139 min (tbc), Th/Ed
Version: Theatrical, Edited
Grade: PG-13
Genre: Action, Fantasy
Language: Korean
Subtitles: Chinese and English/ English





Worldwide except Korea